An announcement

 

via Etsy

I have been putting off writing this post for  a good couple of days. It is hard for me to say this, but I have decided to finish with A Cast of Two. It seems so soon, but let me explain.

I have realised that the way I have approached my blogging isn’t the right way for me to do things. Ironically, if I think back to my very first post, it may not have been the wisest idea to just start. But I am still very glad I did start, as it has helped me see things clearer, prioritise and learn valuable skills. And have fun feasting my eyes on so much gorgeous imagery!

My jewellery making biz is my main focus right now, and I am loving it so, so much. As someone who did a broadcasting degree and a post grad event management diploma I am thriving by challenging myself creatively and producing lovely things. I have registered the name, have the abn and am working (very) hard on the other facets of starting up a small business. In a couple of months (tops!) I will be out at markets and selling online with a product I am proud of.

I have realised that I need to integrate my blogging and my jewellery business together into one entity, and my new blog will be broader in focus. I love, love, love weddings, the beauty and romance they contain, and my new blog will certainly feature wedding related material. However it will also feature a lot of the other things I am really passionate about.

It will celebrate the ethos of beautifully crafted items, which will bring you a lifetime of happiness through owning them. It will feature gorgeous, unique fashion which catches my eye, and profile some of the incredibly clever, inspiring resources which I stumble across on an almost daily basis. It will give me freedom to share beautiful things with you, designed and created with love and care. I believe that possessions do matter to people, and that it is totally ok that they matter. Your most loved things have meaning, they are tied to you, hold memories and make you happy just to look at them. I am lucky to have people in my life who give incredible gifts. One of my favourite items is a handpainted Kokeshi doll given to me by my sister and one of my great friends Rachel, and it seriously makes me feel full of warmth when I look at it or hold it. It tells a story, and those are the kind of stories I hope to share in my new blog.

Of course, this will also be the platform used to profile my experiences with my own jewellery range, and will be where I can share my creations, and the making process.

I am happy to have made this decision, as I have been burning the candle at both ends way too much recently, and I need some time to refocus. I will be going away and learning more blogging technicals and looking into a blog format with much more flexibility than this current template, and I will teach myself some photoshop and in design skills. Eventually, I will have a cohesive brand with a logo and associated branding which will go across my jewellery and my blogging. In time!

Thank you so very much to all who have read A Cast of Two and to those who have made a special effort to contact me and support me. It has been really, really fun and this is only the start of my blogging life. I am hooked! Although I am feeling a real twinge at saying goodbye to my new project so soon in the piece, I know that this is the right move for me, and am truly bubbling with ideas and excitement for my future blogging project. I can’t wait to tell you all about it in a few weeks.

Leah xx

Leave a comment